top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMy Home With Moni Renee

Frozen Chocolate Banana Granola Bar/ My Journey


This frozen granola bar is so very delicious and savory. It's loaded with wholesome foods to sustain your energy. And these bars are Vegan. Back in 2015 I was diagnosed with PCOS after 8.5 years of infertility. So I have tried everything... (long sigh) to try and lose this weight that I hang on too in my belly mostly. UUUHHHH that stubborn belly fat!!! It's frustrating I know. Here I am 5 years later and found something that working for me. You know how they say that you have to stick to low carb high fat diet such as KETO to lose the weight! Well I tried that and I got nowhere. So I decided that I would try plant-base wholesome food's. I'm a week in and I feel fantastic! I'm already seeing the weight come off, and my energy is at a all time high. Which I need to raise these preschooler's and a teenager. I have so much energy that I have been searching for outdoor activities to take my energy out on. The weirdest part is I started to even run well I'm out on our walk's. WHAT!!! Me run? I have not had this type of energy since HUMMM? Let me think... 15 years! I have been unlocking parts of me I have forgotten. It's fantastic I love the way I feel. I want to stay optimistic so I can keep the momentum long term. I don't want this to be another diet I want this to be routine!

Reality is you have to do you! I was in tear's telling my husband how frustrated I felt and I hated getting dressed because this belly fat was beyond muffin top... MORE like 8 months preggos with no baby in there! So I have chosen to do me, and go off the beating path of low carb high fat. So here is my first recipe to a health me and you CHEERS!!!


YOU WILL NEED

2 bananas

2 cups of rolled oats

2 tablespoons of pumpkin seeds (or any seed you like)

1 tablespoon of chia or hemp seed

1 tablespoon of maple syrup (I used unsweetened.)

1 tablespoon of coconut flakes

1 tablespoon of ground flax seed

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

1 cup of cocoa dark chocolate squares to melt

Pinch of Himalayan sea salt or your choice of salt.


INSTRUCTIONS

In a large bowl add your banana's and smash them to a creamy consistency. Once that is complete add in your rolled oats and mix until they are fully combined. Then combine pumpkin seeds ( leave a couple pinches out to add to the top), chia seeds, maple syrup, ground flax seed and cinnamon. I lined a 8x8 glass pyrex pan with parchment paper. Then place your ingredients in the pan. I used a flat cup to press everything flat. Freeze for 1 hour them melt your chocolate in a microwave safe bowl for 30 second increments until fully melted. once melted take pan out of the freezer and add your chocolate you have to move quickly because it will harden because the bars are cold. once you spread all the chocolate add a pinch of salt and coconut flacks and a pinch of pumpkin seeds. Freeze for 4 hours or until hard. If your bars are to hard to cut into microwave for 30 sec at a time to soften them. Enjoy.

48 views0 comments
bottom of page